Seeing An Entirely Different Way

ForestDarkWe were walking through our forest one afternoon, and I came across something that looked just like a faerie circle. It was a circle of mushrooms they tell about in storybooks. There are stories of people crossing the circle and entering the world of Faerie itself, never to return. Of course, if the faeries do let you return, it will be decades, later, and you will be the same age as when you left. Back in historical times you would be accused of witchcraft, and burned at the stake. In this day and age, the government will just cart you away to a hidden lab somewhere to do endless tests to determine what makes you stay ageless .  No one would ever see you again. Same difference.

My husband laughed at me when I mentioned it.

He said, “Melinda, put on your glasses,” which is what I did.

It was not a faerie circle, it was simply some tree fungus on some fallen logs that looked like mushrooms. No trip to Faerie. I was saved from being a government lab rat. It is amazing what a little blurry vision will do combined with an active imagination. I still take walks without my glasses to see if I can find something unusual out in the forest. Every once in a while, I still find something.

What did you think?